Screen Reader Access
All India Coordinated Research Project on Potato

About Us

Potato is one of the major non-cereal food crops and currently ranks 4th in production in the world after maize, wheat and rice. The productivity of potato in India is quite low (9.97 t/ha) during the period of inception of AICRP (1970-71). The ample scope of improving the productivity of potato in sub-tropical climates of India was felt AICRP on Potato was established to carry out region specific trials on evaluation of new hybrids, agronomic practices, potato based cropping systems, control measures for various diseases and pests, potato storage practices and identification of methods for reducing post-harvest losses. In view of these eventualities the All India Coordinated Research Project (AICRP) on Potato was initiated during 4th Five Year Plan in the year 1970-71. Presently, it has a nationwide network of 25 centers located in distinct agro-climatic regions of the country. Seven of these centers are based at CPRI regional stations, 17 in different State Agricultural Universities (SAUs) and 1 voluntary center at Ranichauri in Uttarakhand. The area, production and productivity has touched a hike of 877, 2650 and 302 per cent respectively during 2016-17 evidenced the symbiotic contribution of CPRI and AICRP (P) on potato industry in the country.

                                                                                                                                                                                 At present, AICRP (Potato) with it’s headquarter at CPRI, Shimla has a nationwide network of 25 centers (7 CPRI based centers, 15 SAU’s based centers, 2 CAU’s based centers and 1 Voluntary center) located in distinct agro-climatic regions of the country. Details of these centers are as under

Location/State/Institute/University Established in
Central Potato Research Institute based AICRP centers
Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh CPRI Regional Station 2006 (X Plan)
Jalandhar, Punjab CPRI Regional Station 1993 (VIII Plan)
Kufri, Himachal Pradesh (SPU)* CPRI Regional Station 1976 (V Plan)
Modipuram, Uttar Pradesh(SPU)* CPRI Regional Station 1976 (V Plan)
Ootacamund, Tamil Nadu CPRI Regional Station 1987 (VII Plan)
Patna, Bihar CPRI Regional Station 1971 (IV Plan)
Shillong, Meghalaya CPRI Regional Station 1971 (IV Plan)
SAU based regular AICRP centers
Bhubaneswar, Orissa OUA&T, Bhubaneswar 1971 (IV Plan)
Chhindwara, Madhya Pradesh JNKVV, Jabalpur 1971 (IV Plan)
Deesa, Gujarat SKDAU, SK Nagar 1971 (IV Plan)
Dharwad, Karnataka UAS, Dharwad 1989 (VII Plan)
Dholi, Bihar Dr RPCAU, Pusa 1994 (VII Plan)
Faizabad, Uttar Pradesh NDUA&T, Faizabad 1987 (VII Plan)
Hassan, Karnataka UHS, Bagalkot 1972 (IV Plan)
Hisar, Haryana CSS HAU, Hisar 1975 (V Plan)
Jorhat, Assam AAU, Jorhat 1971 (IV Plan)
Kalyani, West Bengal BCKV, Kalyani 1975 (V Plan)
Kota, Rajasthan AU, Kota 1971 (IV Plan)
Pantnagar, Uttarakhand GBPUA&T, Pantnagar 1975 (V Plan)
Raipur, Chhatisgarh IGKV, Raipur 1999 (IX Plan)
Srinagar, Jammu & Kashmir SKUAST (K), Srinagar 1972 (IV Plan)
Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh CSAUA&T, Kanpur 2008 (XI Plan)
Pune, Maharashtra MPKV, Rahuri 2008 (XI Plan)
Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh CAU, Imphal 2008 (XI Plan)
SAU based voluntary centers
Ranichauri, Uttarakhand UHF, Ranichauri 1984 (VI Plan)

* SPU = Seed Preparatory Units