About AICRP on Vegetable Crops

All India Coordinated Research Project on Vegetable Crops was started during the fourth five-year plan in 1970-71, to provide national grid for multi-locational testing of the vegetable technologies developed by various research institutes and state agricultural universities. The Head Quarter of the project was at the Division of Vegetable Crops, Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi and the Project Coordinator (Vegetable Crops) joined the project in July 1971. In the subsequent phase of development, several new centres were included under the project. The basic aim behind these new inclusions was to cover broadly classified eight agro-climatic zones of India under the AICRP trials. However, Kovilpatti centre of Tamil Nadu Agriculture University was deleted during the seventh five year plan. With the shifting of Project Directorate from IARI, New Delhi to Varanasi in 1992, Varanasi also became one of the main centres of the project. The XI Plan EFC mainly focused for better utilization of manpower and resources, the NSP (Veg.) and AICRP (VC) were merged together. Since all the centres under NSP (VC) except IARI (R.S.), Karnal were located at the place where AICRP (VC) was also operational. Thus, presently there are 29 centres under the project. AICRP (VC) centres are staffed with 77 scientists, 83 technicians,1 administrative staff and 10 skilled supporting staff. List of the plan wise status of AICRP (VC) centres is given in table.

Centres Initiated in plan Year
Main centres
Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi IV Plan 1971
IARI Regional Vegetable Research Station, Katrain, Kullu, Himachal Pradesh IV Plan 1971
Indian Institute of Horticultural Research, Bangalore,Karnataka IV Plan 1971
Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, Punjab IV Plan 1971
Rajendra Agricultural University, Sabour, Bihar IV Plan 1971
Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth, Rahuri , Maharashtra IV Plan 1971
Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu IV Plan 1971
Sub Centres  
Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, Uttarakhand IV Plan 1971
Chandra Shekhar Azad University of Agriculture & Technology, Kanpur, U.P. IV Plan 1971
Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat, Assam IV Plan 1971
Odisha University of Agriculture & Technology, Bhubaneshwar, Odisha IV Plan 1971
Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jabalpur, M.P. IV Plan 1971
Department of Horticulture, Jammu & Kashmir, Srinagar, J&K IV Plan 1971
Y.S. Parmar Agriculture University, Solan, H.P. IV Plan 1971
Andhra Pradesh Agricultural University, Lam, Guntur, A.P. IV Plan 1971
Rajasthan Agricultural University, Durgapura, Jaipur, Rajasthan IV Plan 1971
Tamil Nadu Agriculture University, Kovilpatti, T.N. (During VII Plan centre was dropped) IV Plan 1971
Addition of participatory centres in subsequent phase of AICRP development
Bidhan Chandra Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Kalyani, W.B V Plan 1974
Marathwarda Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Ambajogai, M.S. V Plan 1974
Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar, Haryana V Plan 1974
Narendra Dev University of Agric. and Tech., Faizabad, U.P. VI Plan 1980
Kerala Agricultural University, Vellanikkara,Kerala VI Plan 1980
Indian Institute of Vegetable Research)- (Head Quater) VII Plan 1985
Andhra Pradesh Agricultural University, Hyderabad, A.P. VII Plan 1985
Gujarat Agricultural University, Junagadh, Gujarat VII Plan 1985
University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad, Karnataka VIII Plan 1992
Indira Gandhi Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Raipur, C.G. VIII Plan 1992
IARI (Reg. Station), Karnal (After the merger of AICVIP with NSP) XI Plan 2008
CAU, Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh XI Plan 2008
Rajendra Agricultural University, Samastipur, Bihar XI Plan 2008